Alaska Village Corporations

Alaska Native Village Corporations

Alaska native corportations  (ANC) were formed when Congress passed the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971 in response to a rise in native activism and pressure from oil companies to smooth the path for a trans-Alaska pipeline after oil was discovered in 1968.

The act allotted 40 million acres of land for division among 12 regional native corporations and 220 village corporations. The law was intended to settle longstanding land claims by Alaska natives and provide economic opportunities.

Alaska natives and descendants born before 1971 were allowed to receive 100 shares in their village corporation and regional corporation.

There were originally twelve Alaska regional corporations. In 1975, a 13th corporation formed to represent Alaska natives residing outside the state of Alaska.

Over the years, some village corporations merged with each other or with their regional corporation. Today there are 198 village corporations, according to the Alaska Division of Banking and Securities.


Article Index:

Afognak Native Corporation

The Afognak Native Corporation includes the villages of Afognak and Port Lions.

Akhiok-Kaguyak Native Corporation

Akhiok-Kaguyak, Inc. (AKI) was incorporated on June 29, 1979, as a result of the merger of Natives of Akhiok, Inc. and Kaguyak, Inc., both originally incorporated as village corporations under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971.

Akiachak, Limited Native Corporation

Akiachak, Limited is a native corporation representing the village of Akiachak. Akiachak is located on the west bank of the Kuskokwim River in the Yukon–Kuskokwim Delta, 18 miles (29 km) northeast of Bethel, Alaska.

BIA will Allow Alaskan Land to be Taken into Trust
Deloycheet, Inc.
Evansville, Incorporated
Gana-A’Yoo , Ltd.
How the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act works
K’oyitl’ots’ina, Limited
Ounalashka Corporation
What Are Alaska Regional and Native Corporations?