Fairbanks North Star Borough


Fairbanks North Star Borough (FNSB) is headquartered in Fairbanks. According to 2010 census, the population of the city was 31,535, and the Fairbanks metropolitan area’s population was 97,581.

Fairbanks is the largest interior city in Alaska and the second largest in the state behind Anchorage. It is the principal city of the Fairbanks, Alaska Metropolitan Statistical Area, which encompasses all of the Fairbanks North Star Borough and is the northernmost Metropolitan Statistical Area in the United States. Fairbanks is home to the University of Alaska Fairbanks, the oldest of Alaska’s current colleges.

Fairbanks residents commonly refer to it as the “Golden Heart of Alaska.”

Within the borough are two cities, Fairbanks and North Pole and several unincorporated communities.