Athabaskan languages spoken in Alaska

The 31 Northern Athabaskan languages are spoken throughout the interior of Alaska. The differences among Athabaskan languages may be compared to differences among Indo-European languages. Thus, Koyukon and Dena’ina are about as different as French and Spanish, while Koyukon and Gwich’in are as different as English and Italian. Eyak and Athabaskan together form a genealogical linguistic grouping called Athabaskan–Eyak. The Alakan athabaskan languages include:
    • Ahtna
    • Deg Xinag
    • Dena’ina/Tanaina
    • Gwich’in/Kutchin
    • Hän
    • Holikachuk
    • Koyukon
    • Lower Tanana
    • Middle Tanana
    • Tanacross
    • Upper Tanana
    • Upper Kuskokwim.